3.5 C
New York
Thursday, March 4, 2021
Home Cricket Samarth takes over from Nair as Karnataka captain | Cricket News

Samarth takes over from Nair as Karnataka captain | Cricket News

BENGALURU: Top-order batsman R Samarth will lead Karnataka in the forthcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day tournament. The 28-year-old takes over from Karun Nair, whose poor run with the bat has drawn a lot of flak. Relieved of the responsibility, Nair can now focus on regaining his form.
The senior selection committee, headed by Fazal Khaleel, met on Monday to pick a 22-member team for its title defence.
Interestingly, Samarth had not found a place in the team for the recently concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, in which the defending champions exited in the quarterfinals. Among the players who featured in the T20 competition but failed to make the cut are vice-captain Pavan Deshpande, spinner Pravin Dubey and medium-pacers V Koushik and Prateek Jain.
The prolific Manish Pandey, who has been laid low by tennis elbow, continues to remain unavailable.
KL Shrijith, who made his debut for the senior state side in the Mushtaq Ali competition as a wicketkeeper-batsman, has been named as a specialist batsman. Rakshith S from Swastic Union Cricket Club has made it to the team for the first time as a wicketkeeper alongside BR Sharath, while Sharath Srinivas has been left out due to injury.
Also getting a look in are Aditya Somanna and Vyshak Vijay Kumar. Nikin Jose, who scored 351 runs in five matches including three centuries in the inter-mofussil U-23 tournament, has been rewarded for his consistency with a place in the squad. Nischal D too is back in the team. Although all-rounder K Gowtham has been named in the squad he is unlikely to be available as he is with the Indian contingent for the home series against England as a net bowler.
The team will begin training at the KSCA from Tuesday.
The BCCI is yet to announce the tournament schedule but the one-day championship is likely to get under way on February 15.
Team: Samarth R (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Rohan Kadam, Nischal D, Karun Nair, Shrijith KL, Sharath BR (wk), Rakshith S (wk), Anirudha Joshi, Siddharth KV, Nikin Jose, Shreyas Gopal, Gowtham K, Suchith J, Aditya Somanna, Shubhang Hegde, Mithun A, Prasidh M Krishna, Ronit More, Vyshak Vijay Kumar, Manoj Bhandage, Darshan MB. Coach: Yere Goud; Bowling coach: Sreenath Arvind; Strength and conditioning coach: Rakshit; Physio: Jaba Prabhu; Manager: Anutosh Poll; Masseur: Somasundar CM; Video analyst: Vinodh.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments