Mushtaq Ali T20: Clinical Tamil Nadu cruise past Assam | Cricket News

CHENNAI: A clinical Tamil Nadu thrashed Assam by 10 wickets to register their second win in the Elite Group B Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 clash at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday.
The architects of TN’s victory were their openers — C Hari Nishaanth (47 n.o., 5×4, 1×6) and N Jagadeesan (78 n.o., 8×4, 3×6) — who put on an unbeaten 128-run stand to chase down Assam’s target of 127 in just 15 overs. More importantly, the duo ensured the efforts of TN’s bowlers — led by leggie M Ashwin (2-16) and left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore (2-17) — didn’t go in vain.

Assam’s modest total was never going to test Hari Nishaanth and Jagadeesan. The duo, who had added 72 for the first wicket against Jharkhand in the previous clash, looked in good flow once again. Jagadeesan was the aggressor of the two as he never allowed the Assam bowlers to get into a rhythm. The 25-year-old switched gears at will and scored shots on both sides of the wicket. In the company of Hari Nishanth, the top-scorer (92 n.o.) in TN’s campaign opener, Jagadeesan found an able partner who would take the attack to the opposition.
Hari Nishaanth got TN’s chase off the blocks with a six over mid-wicket followed by two boundaries in the third over bowled by medium-pacer Arup Das. As TN’s innings progressed, it was Jagadeesan who raced ahead of his partner and notched up his maiden T20 fifty for TN.
If TN’s opening pair took them past the finish line with ease, it was their bowlers who set up the game in the opening half of the contest. The TN bowlers were spot on with their lines and lengths. Medium-pacer M Mohammed (2-23) began Assam’s slide by dismissing Assam opener Pallavkumar Das (19) in the 5th over before the slow-ball bowlers — M Ashwin and Sai Kishore — took over. With wickets falling at regular intervals, Assam failed to get the momentum for a majority of their innings.
The only semblance of a fight from Assam came during the 38-run 6th wicket stand between Rajjakuddin Ahmed (29) and Riyan Parag (24). The two ensured Assam crossed the 100-run mark but it proved to be too little too late for them.
Brief scores: Assam 126-7 in 20 overs (R Ahmed 29; Mohammed 2-23, Sai Kishore 2-17, M Ashwin 2-16). Tamil Nadu 128 for no loss in 15 overs (Hari Nishaanth 47 n.o., N Jagadeesan 78 n.o.). Tamil Nadu won by 10 wickets.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *